INTRODUCING THUNDER

Our sons have been asking for a pet dog for the longest time. Finally, after waiting some years (for them to grow up a little older) and fixes in our basement, my husband and children began the search for available dogs.  Our criteria was simple.
Considering our family situation and our location, the dog should have a personality suitable to young children,  it should be not grow big, neither should it be too small, and it should still be a puppy.

Thunder
It was love at first sight between him and Thunder. He liked the circles on Thunder’s back and Thunder liked playing with him.

Initially, my husband took the old-fashioned route to look for the right dog, i.e., through postings in the laundromat and grocery announcement boards.  When that failed, we resorted to Craigslist.  For several weeks, my husband and our older boys scoured the pet listings in our area.  The search was tedious and difficult.   The free puppies were taken almost as soon as they were listed.   The nicer breeds, such as the  beagles, and boxers, and, my favorite,  puggles, were not only popular but also required a steep re-homing fee which ranged from $450.00 – $1,000.00.   While those breeds were preciously beautiful and desirable, the cost was beyond our budget. 

Thunder and Gabriel
It is not unusual for him to be found lying on Thunder’s bed. They like each other but they drive each other nuts. Both need to be trained about handling each other. 🙂

One late late night, after weeks of discouraging results, my husband found and replied to an ad about rat terrier/American Eskimo  puppies being available for sale. The following morning, we ditched all of our plans for the day and drove one-hour to the advertiser’s place to check out the puppies.  The children were, needless to say, very  excited.  We argued and teased each other once more about the names we would give the dog, just in case.    One wanted to a Kingly name (Rex), another (me) a weather name (Cloud, Thunder).  There was a suggestion for Shadow, Cocoa, Mocha, Spot, and so on.

Thunder
He loves tasting and smelling everything he sees. He will stop for the leaves, or the flowers, or mowed grass.

Finally,  we were shown the puppies.  About four of them approached us and played with us.  Oh, how lovely they all were.  My husband and I were partial to a puppy with brown and black spots on white.  But there was this puppy that got our sons’ attention – it had circles on its back and it played with our sons long after the rest had retreated back to their places.   Somehow, despite my suggestions, my sons, especially the second one, was firm on his choice to have this playful puppy.  And so, we took it home.

On our way to the car, everyone just seemed to agree on and call him by this name: Thunder.

Thunder
He prefers to have more placid pets like fish. He has been wary of dogs because the ones he knew jumped on him. But he also likes Thunder and takes turn taking care of the puppy.

Little did I know what a life changing decision having a puppy would be.   Suddenly, there was a puppy seeking comfort on my lap as we headed back home.   It did not take long for me to change from being averse towards the idea of pets  (I was one of the reasons it took long for us to get a dog),  to being a doting pet owner, at least for the little puppy we got.  The following morning and the mornings after that would find me up early to take Thunder out.  Ah, it’s like having a new baby all over again.

Thunder
He likes to dig and to crawl under dried mowed grass. If he had his way, he would have dug until he had exposed the base of this wire supporting the electric pole.

Our children, on the other hand, have fun playing with Thunder.   Thunder’s presence have changed their morning rituals as well.  Instead of asking to be in the computer first thing when they wake up, they would be playing and taking care of Thunder.   Perhaps, Thunder will help them be more responsible and caring children.

Thunder
What do you know? He’s afraid of thunder! He is extremely reluctant to go out when the grass is wet.

Thunders’ training continues.  Meanwhile, he is proving to be such a sweet dog.  He enjoys our company and yet, seeks his own space, too.  He’s just perfect for us.

Thanks for coming by. 🙂

P.S.  Jessie, as you have suggested, here are some photos of our new pet. 🙂

21 comments

  1. Oh I LOVE THIS!!!! Congratulations on your new family addition. I have had a dog for 16 years now and can’t imagine being without one. They are wonderful, wonderful family additions. I am SO happy for you. May you and your family have tremendous fun with your new companion! 🙂

  2. Congratulations! Oh my kids have been asking for a dog for a long time too. And reading your post might actually break domn my defenses, but my kids aren’t old enough to be responsible for one, I think. I can totally see all the wonderful ways a dog could add to a child’s life, but I’m not sure we’re ready to take care of one. But I do want one. Just not now. Love the name, Thunder – and so funny he’s scared of it! Haha!

    • Take your time, Janice. Having a pet is like having another baby. It is kind of life changing – enjoy your pet-free days before you enter this kind-of crazy world of pet training and all. 🙂

  3. He is so sweet ..Our family had many pets over the years… cats and dogs and many of them abandoned ones… They really did teach our children kindness towards animals and they were in return very comforting to all of us … Diane

  4. Oh, he is darling and he will grow into his name, I’m sure. Getting a puppy is just like having another baby in the house. How nice. We had several dogs and other pets for my son when he was small. Now over forty, he still tells their stories and has their photographs. They brought much happiness and good memories into the house. You won’t regret this, Imelda, and your sons will bless you forever.

    Have fun. Post more photographs.

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, Jamie. Already, I know I have changed some. Everyone was surprised that I became fond of Thunder so quickly. You are right, this puppy (and I suppose every puppy) is like a little baby. It evokes the same protective instincts that my own inspires on me. 🙂

  5. I hope you learn to love and respect each other as well as to enjoy the special times you can share together. The photographs are beautiful. Treasure them, and the moments shared. Your lives will be the richer for all the experiences.

  6. Congrats on the new family member! I do think being around animals is good for kids (I hope so- we have 3 cats, 3 dogs!) My kids’ chores include feeding and watering, and cleaning up after them. I have noticed in my older son especially that when he gets angry with us, or doesn’t want to talk to us, he will seek out his cat to confide in.

    I hope your kids find a special relationship with Thunder that will stay with them forever.

Leave a Reply

