SUNDAY POST: BRIDGE

Rainbow

Between earth and sky
arcing wide like open arms
God’s painted hope bridge.

~~~

It might be a stretch for Jake’s theme this week, but please indulge me.  🙂 Jake is back with Sunday Post,  so it seems like celebration time.  However, I have no  decent picture of an actual bridge so, I propose, just for this post, that the rainbow is a bridge.

On a more serious note, I really like rainbows.  Not only are they pretty, but also they remind me of God’s goodness.  In the Old Testament, God has used the rainbow as a sign of His covenant  with all the creatures of the earth that there shall be no more waters of a flood to destroy flesh (Gn. 9:11-17).  That is a far cry from my  near horror of the rainbow when I was a child. According to local folklore, one’s finger would curl (permanently) if he points at the rainbow.  That’s why, when I was but a young child, I (and the rest of the children I knew) was careful not to use our fingers to point at the rainbow for fear of being marred for life. 🙂  Anyway, thank you for indulging my whims here. 🙂

Have a lovely day. 🙂 Oh, do visit Jake’s place for proper bridge responses. 🙂 Thank you again.

18 comments

  1. A bridge showing God’s promise to man. Excellent reminder. I never heard of the finger pointing folklore. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • The lore must be a Filipino thing. I think that some lores were told to encourage a kind of behavior. However, I can’t figure out what sort of behavior is being encouraged or discouraged by this little legend. 🙂

    • 🙂 In Tagalog, our term was “masisiklo” , a term which is difficult to translate to English. But now, even I do not know the exact meaning of the terms since I have not used it in a long time. 🙂

  2. Wow what a great picture! Hard to see so vivid rainbows like that one!
    When my mothers foster mom died, it was raining all day and by the funeral time, a huge rainbow appeared. It is a great memory she has.
    If you don’t mind me asking, could you go to my blog and read something I posted in English? I started it a few days ago and I could use some helpful hints.

  3. Maybe it is a stretch, but it works for me. I have tons of bridge pictures, but only one rainbow picture. (When you live in the desert, rainbows are few and far between :))

Leave a Reply

