I WILL CATCH THE RAINDROPS

Rain

I will catch the raindrops
enclose them in my palms
and dance round and round in circles
with my outstretched arms.

I will taste the raindrops
roll them with my tongue
let them trickle down my skin
then make pools on the ground.

I will touch the raindrops
hanging from the boughs
and free the little sunbeams
trapped in the crystalline claws.

Then I will watch the sunshine
once more lighting up the sky
and behold the colorful rainbow
embracing me from up high.

~~~~~~

For WordPress Daily Prompt:  Singin’ in the Rain (describe your perfect rainy afternoon), dVerse Poets’ Poetics:  Beauty is Everywhere   and Wordsmith Studio’s Rain prompt.

31 comments

  1. oh i like the playfulness in this…the catching and tasting them and my absolute fav part was the freeing the little sunbeams
    trapped in the crystalline claws…what a great visual

  2. big smiles…this is the rain i love….the refreshing that calls you with its music to dance with abandon….love the very positive nature of your verse….and when the sun comes i will rejoice all the more…smiles.

  3. Absolutely beautiful Imelda. You know how to play with words for sure and doing a great job of it. 😀 *hugs*

  4. what a beautiful idead to ‘roll raindrops with the tongue’ – i wonder what they would feel like… also loved freeing the trapped sunbeams… such playfulness in this – the beauty radiates.

Leave a Reply

