THE DOOR

“Charleston Farmhouse Door”, this week’s prompt from Magpie Tales

The aroma of bread
warm from the oven
wafts through this door
embracing me with a hunger
that no bread could fill.

Footsteps echo
laughter rings
from inside this door
voices call my name
sweetly,
as only children can.

Four pairs of arms wait
to enfold me in hugs
and tickles until
we collapse on the floor
shrieking
as strong arms
gather us all
help me up
my hands clasped in his.

This door shelters them all

I turn my key
to home.

~~~~

22 comments

  1. The best feeling ever Imelda and you’ve described it so well! Great shot and poem hon. Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€ *hugs*

    • Thank you, Nell. πŸ™‚ I enjoyed reading the other responses – there’s so much imagination and creativity, not to mention intensity. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

