RETREAT

Poetry Jam’s Prompt this week.

When I don’t respond to anything you say
don’t be mad, my mind is just away
taking a little break from the day’s rigors
in a few minutes, I’ll be back with some vigor.

I don’t need to leave the comforts of home
spend a fortune so that we could roam
in places, then be back catching up with chores
unpacking suitcases is certainly a bore.

A cup of coffee, a slice of cake, and quiet time
just a moment to think without children’s whines
and go back to those days when life was carefree
no cooking, no dishes, no laundry, no worry

when life was propelled by starry-eyed dreams –
money, enough to do things on a whim
one great love, to wake me with a kiss
carry me through sunsets to that land of bliss

I’d love to converse with the person inside me
reacquaint with who she was, or is, or hopes to be
return to the future, more than refreshed
to the present I have, where dreams are blest.

~~~~

For POETRY JAM’s VACATION

.  🙂 Please visit the page for more Vacation thoughts. 🙂

8 comments

  1. smiles..i slip away to those little mental vacations as well…retreat and sit for coffee with the one inside…i find it helps face what is there when i come back…ha…def like that last stanza…its good to make that reconnect…

  2. I totally agree Imelda. Those are the best vacations ever. Once we went with my mom and stepdad to the sea and I swore never again. I was more tired when I got back home. I prefer having my vacations at home. 😀 Great poem! *hugs*

    • Hi Ilargia! I was wondering about the sadness part…. I know, I wrote this while away from home. I miss home when I am away for extended periods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

