BUTTERFLIES

Butterfly
SWALLOWTAIL BUTTERFLY

Butterflies

meadow fairies

sprinkling golden dust

upon eyes that seek

magic.

~~~

SMALL COPPER I nearly stepped on the flower when I was walking in the fields taking random photos.  Happily, the wings fluttered and that made me notice this little butterfly.  It is about the size of a nickel and therefore, is so easy to miss.  But isn't it pretty up-close? :-)
SMALL COPPER
I nearly stepped on the flower when I was walking in the fields taking random photos. Happily, the wings fluttered and that made me notice this little butterfly. It is about the size of a nickel and therefore, is so easy to miss. But isn’t it pretty up-close? 🙂

Flowers spray fragrance

angling for lover’s kiss like

butterfly whispers.

 Butterfly whispers

wake up the flowering fields

into summer dreams.

~~~~~

PAINTED LADY This butterfly is a bit bigger than Small Copper.  When I reviewed the photographs that I took of this butterfly, I was surprised to find that at a certain angle, the markings on the wings looked like a sketch of a face.  I guess, now that I said it, I have to upload a photo with the funny marks. :-)
PAINTED LADY
This butterfly is a bit bigger than Small Copper. When I reviewed the photographs that I took of this butterfly, I was surprised to find that at a certain angle, the markings on the wings looked like a sketch of a face. I guess, now that I said it, I have to upload a photo with the funny marks. 🙂

Chasing summer dreams

children run about carefree

like the butterflies.

~~~~~

swallowtails

Fragile fading wings

resolved to gather nectar

what noble warriors.

~~~

BLACK SWALLOWTAIL I had a rather interesting time figuring out what this butterfly was because its wings are faded and broken.  PArts of the wings have been torn that some of the markings were also lost.
BLACK SWALLOWTAIL
I had a rather interesting time figuring out what this butterfly was because its wings are faded and broken. PArts of the wings have been torn that some of the markings were also lost.

~~~~
I think summers and butterflies go together so I will join Island Traveler’s Weekly Image of Life: Summer Party. 🙂 Do drop by to see more summer offerings. 🙂

15 comments

  1. We have so many butterflies in spring, because they love to visit my garden. Sadly, they’re nearly gone now, as the summer is much too warm for them in these parts.

  2. Stunning photo’s of these beautiful garden visitors and great entry for the challenge Imelda. Love it. 🙂 *hugs*

  3. incredibly beautiful photos, Imelda … and very inspiring poem as well. you have a gift at forming words into metaphors of inspiration …

    btw, please check your link over at IT’s, you might have to adjust something to make your link work 🙂

Leave a Reply

