WORDS

This image,Waking, Walking, Singing, in the Next Dimension? 1979 by Morris Graves, is Magpie Tales’ prompt for this week.

I have nothing but words
to take me out into the world
that it may see
the soul
inside the shell it beholds.
Words give color to my rainbow
or the melody to my song.

If you take my words away
tell me
how do I order the madness
around and within
or
reach out to Him
who consoled we with this gift
for use
while I am here exiled?

I’ll be like a bird
without its song
without its flight
hoping for that eternal dream
where it will be free
to be.

~~~~~

In addition to the prompt from Magpie Tales, I was thinking of  Zarmina, a young Afghan girl who when  forbidden to write poetry burned herself in protest.    I found her story through Jaime Dedes who wrote about Afghan poetry, specifically those of Afghan women in her  blog, The Poet by Day.   More Afghan poetry was featured in Grace’s Everyday Amazing poetry blog.  Incidentally, Jaime and Grace are two of my favorite poets.  Check out their pages for more about Afghan poetry and their beautiful writing.  Also, please do not forget to check out Magpie Tales where Tess and other talented writers link up their works. 🙂

Thank you for coming by.  I hope you have  a great day/evening. 🙂

1042f-magpie2btales2bstatue2bstamp2b185

14 comments

  1. A beautiful poem with integrity and hope interwoven, Imelda.

    Thank you for your kind comment and for your solidarity with other writers and poets. It is important for us to help others, like the women poets of Afghanistan, by giving them their voice in the world and to create awareness of what the injustices of war, violent dissent, and patriarchy do to hearts and minds. If we honor Zarmina, perhaps she will not have died in vain.

    Well, off to visit Grace …

    Warmest regards,
    Jamie

    • Thank you, Jamie, especially for bringing to us this reality. I can’t imagine why people should stop people from expressing their thoughts – although I should not really wonder why since I came from a country once ruled by a dictator. Power, it’s all about power and fear of losing it and more.

      I hope you enjoyed Grace’s page as I thought you would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

