“W” FOR WHITE FLOWERS

Marking the boundary between our place and our neighbor’s is a flowering tree. It bears white flowers or arcing stems.
White
The flowers are moderately fragrant and they bloom in the latter part of spring.

White flowers
Unfortunately, I do not know its name. A couple of years ago, I saw a similar plant in a nursery and made a mental note of its name.
White flowers2
However, anesthesia from ceasarian sections and aging too (my convenient excuses for being so forgetful) had done a number on my memory. Try as I might, I can not recall the name of this plant. All I know is that it has the word “Snow” in it, i.e., granting that my memory can be trusted. 🙂
White flowers3
Is anyone familiar with this flowering bush/tree? It will be beautiful any which way but it will be so much better to call it by a name other than white flower. 🙂

Thank you very much for dropping by. I hope you have a great blessed day.

I am joining FRIZZTEXT’s “W” prompt. Do visit his page for more entries. 🙂

17 comments

  1. I can relate to the memory. I blame it on the kids, too 🙂 I refuse to believe it’s because I’m getting old(er) – but my older son readily tells me that’s why! Beautiful flowers – I wish I could help you with the name, but I’m not familiar with them.

  2. Imelda, it looks like it might be a Mock Orange tree/bush? I have one that I planted from cuttings I brought from our old place. They smell so wonderful…and I sure hope mine blooms this year.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Thanks, Memory Catcher. I looked up jasmine plants and found out that there are several varieties. This one looks like the ones here -http://www.buzzle.com/articles/jasmine-plant-varieties.html

  3. Beautiful photos – we have a plant that looks similar, but I’m not sure if it is the same thing – the name of our plant is a “potato vine” – lots of pretty white flowers and it loves to crawl on the fence. Really pretty too!

    • Yey!! Another possibility. Now, I have three to consider – jasmine, mock orange bush, and potato vine. I’ll look up a potato vine and compare. Thanks, Becky. 🙂

      • Sure! I hope you like the vine – I know I really like ours, it does love to crawl and climb that’s for sure. But it’s always green and has flowers on it, very pleasant to look at and makes a nice addition to my cozy little yard! I’m looking forward to hearing what it is. Maybe you could take a sample of it to your local nursery and see if they could assist you?

    • I looked up potato vines. They are so pretty and they resemble the plants here. THey may not be the same kind though because the ones in the photo do not creep like the potato vines. They may belong to the same family though. Thanks for the heads up, Becky. 🙂 Happy weekend.

  4. I had three caesarians and back surgery, and I swear some days I’m lucky to remember my name. Oh, god, what are the kids breaking in the backyard? Gotta run!

    • You and Memory Catcher have both suggested that these may be jasmine. On the other hand, Wendy thinks the plant looks like a Mock Orange Bush. I looked up photos of both, and the plant bears similarity to both the jasmine and the Orange bush. I am inclined towards the jasmine suggestion because the these flowers have more petals than an orange bush’s flower. Ha! It is an exciting time to be a plant spy. 🙂

  5. They are so beautiful and delicate Imelda and you took stunning shots of them. Thanks for sharing hon. 🙂 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

