SIGNS AND SWALLOWTAILS

Welcome2Maine
I am blogging from the beautiful State of Maine where spring is fully sprung, where a thick cover of new green trees –

Maine sign
along with some safety reminders line the roadsides and greet travelers.

Donotdrinkanddrive

After awhile, the signs can get boring, but not this one along Route 1 in Yarmouth. He looks a little irked to be standing outdoors all the time advertising a store that sells sporting goods, if I recall correctly, but I welcome the sight of him. πŸ™‚

Native American Statue
Because where I can see him, I know that something sweeter waits around the corner. A store that sells the best custard there is is right across Mr. Native American and that is where we had our lunch break during the trip. Egg is a good meal, isn’t it?

Custard
Eventually, after a seven hour trip, we got to our destination. As soon as I could, I visited the lilac tree to see some lilacs and behold what I saw:

Butterfly party
There are signs and there are signs and I consider these swallowtails the best of all.

swallowtails
They portend many a happy days –
Swallowtail2
and that their world is still fine as it is. πŸ™‚

Swallowtail

Thank you for coming by. πŸ™‚ I bet this is not the last time you will see swallowtails in my pages. I see them flitting about during my walks. This morning, I photographed a different butterfly species. Beautiful days are ahead indeed. πŸ™‚

For more SIGNS, please visit DAILY POST: THE SIGN SAYS. πŸ™‚

20 comments

    • Naku, when we get the chance, we’ll try to see his house in Bangor and take a picture for you. I’ve been asking my family here to see SK’s place but we always run out of time when in Bangor.

      • omg that would be awesome Melds! Pero it would only make sense if you were in the pic/s ha? πŸ™‚ I’ve read so many of his works but still it feels like I haven’t even scratched the surface. Regards to you and your family!

  1. Your Maine pics are gorgeous…but those butterflies – WOW! I’ve not seen that type of butterfly in Arizona…we mostly get Monarchs, but not many of them.

    • Monarchs…they appear here during the summer. I understand that there’s been a concern about the dwindling monarch population because their food, the milkweed, is slowly disappearing. That will be a sad day when the Monarchs disappear – one less beauty to go around.

    • Thanks, Diane. πŸ™‚ There’d be more butterfly posts. I captured an old black swallowtail the other day. Then there was another butterfly which appeared to have the sketch of a face on its wings. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

