CLEMATIS

These days, it is hard for me to remain inside the house.  The first thing I do in the morning, when I get the chance to, is to walk around in the yard to see what progress the plants have made overnight 🙂 and to see if there are any new blooms.

It is an exciting time to be in the yard these days because the irises and the Marguerite daisies are already blooming.  The Rhododendrons are starting to open.  And so are the roses.  and the peonies.  There should be a lovely explosion of colors and scents in the next few days.  Hopefully, they open before we go on a vacation.

And then there are the Clematis.  The Nelly Moser is in full bloom.  It has gotten to be so huge it managed to tip its trellis over.  (You can make the picture  EVEN bigger by clicking on the photo. 🙂 

Clematis

Clematistoo

Nelly Moser

Right beside the Nelly Moser (I wish I did not underestimate how big Clematis grows) is Star of India.  It is overwhelmed by the sheer size of the Nelly Moser but it manages to shine on its own because of its lovely colors.  There are a few blooms here and there, but when they show, what a lovely color combo that it and the Nelly Moser will make.

Star of India

Star of India 2

Last, we have this unknown variety.  I rescued it from some dangerous part of the yard, i.e., a place the lawnmower frequents.  It came with the house and when I first saw it, it was just a tiny growth near a tree.  Lucky for it, I just bought some Clematis and recognized from the leaf pattern what it could possibly be.  I planted it near an arching trellis, opposite a climbing rose, Westerland.  This clematis showed a remarkable improvement from last year, however, it is threatened to be overwhelmed by the rather generous rose.

Clematistoo

Trellis
Yay! This trellis shows my lack of planning. I planted the rose and the other plants first. When I decided to have the arc, my little plot has been mostly planted. SO I asked my husband to just stick the trellis wherever it would fit, i.e., behind the rose bush. Nice plannig. no? 🙂

Thank you for enjoying with me the bounties of my little garden.  I will certainly be glad to share more photos of the flowers that bloom in our garden.  🙂

Copy this image and its link to place on your blog

20 comments

  1. I also love going out into the garden every morning to see how the plants are coming. It is such an exciting time of year. These are beautiful photos.

  2. Very nice garden. I wish I could have as big as yours.
    I’ve been into gardening as well and hope that all my plants would growing well and healthy. 🙂

    • Thanks, Inge. 🙂 Most of the plants in my garden are easy to care for plants, except for the roses. Clematis are easy to grow and care for – just stick them in a sunny spot and give them something to climb on.
      Here’s wishing you and your plants a happy garden season. 🙂

  3. Your garden is beautiful. I can see why that’s where you want to go in the morning! If you hadn’t have mentioned the trelis as a later addition, I would have thought you planned it – it looks like it fits there 🙂

  4. Fabulous Nelly Mosers, Imelda, wonderfully juxtaposed with the Star of India. Clematis are favourites of mine too but it’s the other way around here. The rhododendrons are reaching an end and the clematis still only buds (except for Montana, of course!) 🙂

  5. Rather than buy expensive tree trellis, I use leftover scraps of my horse wire fencing – any kind will do – to wrap around a tree for the clematis to climb on. Once they cover the wire, you never even know its there. You can buy rolls of all kinds of hardware cloth, etc. at Lowes. I would think plastic netting would work also.

Leave a Reply

