HARANA / SERENADE

This was written originally in Tagalog. The English version is below. :-)  
~~~~~~

Kumakagat ang dilim
huminto na ang huni ng mga ibon
naiwan ang katahimikan
ng hanging amihan
na nakikipaglaro sa mga dahon

Aking inaabangan
ang kwerdas ng gitarang
tinutugtog
palapit sa aking bintanang
naghihintay ng kanyang tinig
na magbibigay buhay sa isang awit
-awit ng pag-ibig –
na maglilipad sa aking puso
sa ibang daigdig.

Subali’t sa ibang bintana
siya nanapat
naluha ako
sa kanyang awit na pumailanlang
sa hangin
“Bakit hindi iyon sa akin?”

Ang awit na aking tugon
nanatiling tahimik
hanggang matagpuan ko ang aking tinig.
Pinaimbulog ko ang aking harana
at hinayaan siyang matagpuan
ang Karapat-dapat
na sa kanya’y duminig.

Violin Bridge

SERENADE

Night falls
the birds have stopped singing
leaving the silence
to the breeze playing
with the leaves
while I wait
for the strumming of the guitar
to come  closer to my window
aching to hear that voice
that will give life to a song
– a song of love –
that will transport my heart
to another world.

But his music called
on someone else’s window
As his song wafted
in the air
I shed a tear –
“Why is it not for me?”

The song I kept
was silenced
until I found my voice.
Then I let my music soar
and find the one
who is worthy
to hear it.

~~~~~

For dVERSE Poets Pub Open Link Night.  Join in the fun. 🙂

 

17 comments

  1. love th focus on sound…the hush of the birds giving way to the leaves…then the guitar…and then bringing in the wish that the song was for you…an honest feeling i think many have felt…love the sound of the tagalog verse as well…

  2. I love this so much Imelda!!! I love everything about it… even the way you wrote it in two languages. Set this to music and it would be my favorite song!!

  3. hey..it’s much longer in tagalog than in english…smiles…what a cool language..i like the sounds..love the idea of letting the music soar to find the one who’s worthy to hear…really cool write

  4. The song I kept
    was silenced
    until I found my voice.
    Then I let my music soar
    and find the one
    who is worthy
    to hear it.

    the final stanza brings all of this to such a vulnerable point…especially..then I let my music soar….thankyou

  5. …a very sad poem ate Imelda… i can only sigh…. ang galing mong tumula sa Tagalog…. hindi sya awkward basahin at pakinggan…. unlike pg ako ang nagsulat sa tagalog… natatawa tlaga ako… hehe… gumawa pa nga ako ng poetry blog before na purely tagalog sonnets lng… naka 5 entry lang ata ako tapos tinigilan ko na… mas mahirap mag compose ng verse sa tagalog kesa english… i liked the way you translated it too… the same pa din ang feeling na nais i-express pero mas na-appreciate ko talaga ung tagalog version… really refreshing to read especially as i have been writing purely in english these days and reading books in english too…. salamat sa tula mo po… and CONGRATZ!!! CONGRATZ!!! CONGRATZ!!! we won… and i am proud coz yours was really one of my bet sa contest to garner a spot… and you did…. wow!!! smiles…

    • Noong ka-age mo ako, asiwa din ako sa Tagalog na poem na gawa ko. Palagay ko, pag ginamit mo ang lagi mong gamit na salita sa iyong tula, mas magiging comfortable ka. I sulat mo na parang kinakausap mo ang sarili mo sa panahon mo, hindi sa panahon ni Carmen Rosales – kung kilala mo pa siya. ha ha ha I have a confession to make – I have only read English novels so far (except for Noli and Fili and Florante at Laura noong High school). Siguro, dahil wala ako diyan sa Pilipinas, hindi na ako makahanap ng Tagalog book na maganda ang pagkasulat. Ah…nagbasa pala ako ng Tagalog romances – parang weird basahin kahit parang personal ang dating. Salamat sa pagbati mo. Natutuwa ako para sa iiyo.

  6. I really love this. I need to try and write some tagalog poems someday. Kaso, sigurado mangangailangan ako ng diktionaryo kasi merong mga salita na pedyo nakalimutan ko na. and of course, sa poetry, kailangan din ng mga deep meaning words – eh di ko na maalala yung mga yun. bata pa ako nung iniwan ko pinas. pero, sa pagbasa ko nito, I kind of feel like there might be a little hope for me after all. Pero siyempre, simple lang and mga magagawa ko. 😉

    • Thanks, Janice. IT is nice to write in Tagalog especially when you find yourself thinking in Tagalog. Do not worry about the words you use – you start with what you know. Perhaps, you will surprise yourself when you find that you know more Filipino more than you think.

      I realized I like writing in Tagalog too – it frees the part of me that wants to talk in Tagalog. It also keeps Tagalog real for me.

Leave a Reply

