MAINE MELTS

Just when I thought that spring was around the bend, a heavy wet snow fall visited us on Thursday through Friday. Around Friday afternoon, when we began our spring break trip to Maine, fog and snowy roads greeted us.

Winter again
The interstate looked like a sorry mess early in the afternoon. Nobody expected the storm to last that long. The road cleanup crew had a difficult time clearing the road.

Interstate

Fortunately, the weather got better as we moved north and when we got to Maine, we were met with blue skies.

Clouds
Portland, ME

The fields were  showing  bigger patches of golden grass by the day.

Field
A farm along I-95 North

The ice has been  retreating from the water –

Melting River
Scene along I-95 North

–  and the river can dare to flow again.

Blue House
Piscataquis River, Dover-Foxcroft, ME.

The pigeons are exalting.

Fly
PIgeons in the park fronting the public parking garage in Brewster, ME.

The woods are waking –

Deer
Front field of the family home

The cattle are back to grazing –

Cows
A farm scene in Charleston, ME or thereabouts on the way from Bangor.

and we are, in the mud, squishing.  But spring is coming! 🙂

muddy field
front field of the family home. We need to walk about a quarter of a mile to our car to go anywhere. The road is too soft and squishy for our car to get through.

Thank you for coming by.  🙂

6 comments

  1. Wow! I’m so glad you made it out of the snow, and are finding the signs of Spring! Spring gives you hope, and encourages you to keep pressing on, just like you did in your walk! Beautiful pictures, and I really liked the one of the deer! Have a wonderful day and enjoy the sunshine!

  2. I love that first photo. I had to stop and stare at it for a bit (I think I was hoping that if I looked long enough I might feel that chill…it’s been 90 degrees here for two days and I refuse to turn on our air conditioning until April :)) Maine really is a pretty state. Maybe I’ll actually get to see it one day…but until then, I’ll see it through your photos!

Leave a Reply

