AN INVITATION

Sip your coffee
drink your beer
eat your meals
with me.
Sit back
relax
put your feet up
dress up
dress down
just be
yourself
in my company
where no moment
is ever dull.
Wake up
to news I bring you
faster than your neighborhood
gossip can bring.
Laugh
with my canned laughter
cry
over my latest soap
Learn
the simple life
Dance
with the stars.
All these and more
in your hands
with a click
of a button
of the remote
life unfolding before you
for you
without pain
or effort
just your time
undivided
your eyes glued on me
afraid
to let me go.
I will take care of everything-
what to think
how to feel
what to choose
day by day.
You only need to breathe
then –
behave ย as you are told!

______________

For DVERSE Poets’ Poetics: ย Reaching the Masses

20 comments

    • Thank you, Jamie. Like you, we do not have TV here, though we get to watch a lot of shows from Youtube and Hulu, and DVD’s. I wonder if there is any difference at all especially since the ads have invaded those media too.

  1. This is quite reminiscent of Geroge Orwell’s 1984 – the box in the corner constantly dripping propaganda into our consciousness. And with CCTV everywhere now, we are eing watched most of the time too.

    • I am not a fan of the skinny poem as well – I have to go to your poll and vote. However, when I imagined the TV making a seductive dialogue, this came out. I guess, it is not very smart or eloquent, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰ After this exercise, I have a little more understanding for the skinny poem writer though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Very clever poem! You are inspiring me to write for Promptly. I love that your poetry speaks to me. I’ve been terrible with that blog–must get back to the swing of things…

    • Sandra, write write write. You are wasting the poems in your head if you do not write, even a short haiku. You were one of the persons who inspired me to be in poetry after all. ๐Ÿ™‚ And because of that, I found out what kind of writing I wanted to do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your kind comments.

      I am surfing early in the morning, taking the day slow for my birthday. I am 45 today. Imagine that. :-))

      • HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Imelda! I’m excited for your special day, my friend! I hope you have a nice, easy day (although you homeschool your kids, right?) Well, a birthday like any other day is still a blessing, even if in disguise. I will try to write more. I’m trying to finish my 849 page book and that will be done today, yay! I also want to write for Letters, so Promptly is always on the back burner. It will happen, and thank you so much for your encouragement and reminder to just WRITE. I haven’t had a lot of inspiration with Trifecta lately, so I may just have to do my own thing. Have a great, joyous day with all your loved ones! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

  3. It can suck you in, definitely, if you let it. I can live without it (which makes me kind of smug, hahaha). Oh wait, I must have my Downton Abbey fix, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

