SOME WISHFUL THINKING

I have long stopped making new year’s resolutions because I’d forget about them soon after I made them. That I do not make any resolution, however, does not mean that I have no desire to make myself or my life better. It is best not to wait a year before one takes stock of one’s situation, personal or otherwise. A daily examination of conscience is best to check bad habits and nip any in the bud.

Yet, be that as it may, the new year is a specially good day to take stock of things – those that have been accomplished or neglected in the last year – and to set a direction.

Most of my hopes and dreams revolve around my being a mother and wife.   Therefore, all of my desire for self-improvement aim to serve my vocation as mother and wife. At least, I hope so. 🙂

For this post, I wish to focus on a couple of interests that I wish to continue and/or work on this year.   I don’t know how these  personal interests jive with the general direction that I mentioned earlier.  However,  if I go with my husband’s logic that  a satisfying hobby makes me a happier and  easier one to live with, these goals are well-within my life mission. 🙂

The first area that I wish to focus on is writing.   As you may well know by now, one of the reasons I blog is to learn and improve my writing skills.  I have always wanted to write poems and stories; I have wanted to record family stories, but I did not know how to.  After a year of blogging, I know that my work has improved and I am happy about that.  I will never be in any Bestseller list or have any writing prize (HA! HA! HA!), but I am glad to know that there are a few poems and stories  (quality or lack thereof notwithstanding)  in my archive. 🙂  This year, I wish to continue learning and improving and writing.  I will continue participating in writing link-ups even when my work sticks out like a sore thumb. 🙂

Poetry
This is my draft for the poem “Life Music”.

Another area that I wish to work on is photography.   I like recording those fleeting moments of beauty.  I like to record beauty as I see it and share with you.   Based on my works over the past years, I am happy to note that I have improved in this area too.  Thanks to digital cameras.  I do not have to worry that I am taking too many pictures of the same subject in the hope that I can come up with one passable photo.   I am also very grateful to the photographers out there  who generously share their knowledge and photos and to you who tell me what work worked and why. 🙂   To  improve some more in this area, I wish to participate in as many photo challenge as is reasonable for me and to take more  pictures of anything and everything to see how photography elements work.   One day, I may even try to learn how to use photoshop, or gimp, maybe.

Scroll

Then, there is the violin.  It always calls to me.  I like music, I like to play the violin.   But I have neglected learning and practicing.  I did not want to play because the noise would wake up the sleeping children.  I did not want to play because I need to be able to concentrate.  The children almost always interrupted my playing if I happened to play during the day.  They wanted to touch the bow or pluck the strings or what have you.

Violin Bridge

I should go back before my fingers get gnarled from housework and age. 🙂 It is starting to happen.  My left index finger looks slightly bent and twisted from all the dish washing that I have been doing all these years.  I knew I should have gotten that  insurance! 😉

Now that my youngest is no longer a baby, perhaps I can start playing for ten minutes or so at night once a week.   For that one night, I should will myself away from any blog-related thing until I am done with practicing.   I guess that’s workable.

Violin belly

And just to give myself something concrete to look forward to, I will focus on learning to play once again that piece of music that I have learned more than ten years ago.  My mind remembers the tune but my fingers could not produce the notes.  I’d be really happy if I could play  this reasonably and relatively well again.

Concerto

Thank you Jake and DP Weekly Photo Challenge for making me think about goals and ‘compelling’ me to put them in writing. 🙂  Visit their pages for more responses. 🙂  Thank you for coming by.

Best regards,

Imelda

24 comments

    • Hi NIck. 🙂 I am not a child prodigy either. I learned the instrument in my 20’s and was mortified that my 5 year old classmates were better than me all around. 🙂

  1. These are great goals and I wish you success and fun in all that you will be doing 🙂

    I love writing and photography as well, and I think the same about the digital cameras. Such a great invention 🙂

  2. Your husband is right – a fulfilling hobby will not only bring you joy, but make you more able to give yourself to your family. Writing, photography and the violin should keep your creativity well-exercised this year 🙂

    • Thanks for coming by, Janna. 🙂 I wonder if I am biting more than I can chew. Still, better have those things to divert me from my other preoccupation – to worry. 🙂

  3. I am now following your blog too. I like your writing style and I do not know what you have to learn more to improve at it. I remember my English professor saying “straight forward sentences in the natural order are beautiful sentences”. And that is exactly your writing style as I appreciate it.

    Writing styles seem to have become ‘any style will do’ these days. I am not in a position to tell which one is better, but frankly, I wouldn’t say one style is better than the other. The content matters to me more than the style as most, if not all, I am quite sure would rather look at it that way too.

    It is wonderful to meet you through this, what I call – the new word power – that is blogging. I wish you more exciting and successful blogging this year and look forward to more sharing with you.

  4. I absolutely loved this post and the way your words flowed together. So sincere and from the heart.
    I’m with you on the whole ‘resolution’ thing. I told myself this year I was making life plans and incorporating the theme of : Breaking Out of Comfort Zones!
    I would like to hear you play the violin. (We’re always our own worst critic.)

Leave a Reply

