WINTER SCENES

The  two  snowstorms in the last days of December ushered in a white and frigid new year. What a contrast to the new year’s days that I grew up with!  Those days were filled were colors and noise.   In the Philippines, noise – all sorts of noise, from firecrackers, tin cans, bamboo cannons, horns – welcome the new year and chase away the old.  Smoke mingling with the fog, smog,  was the nearest to ‘white’ that we could get.  It makes breathing quite difficult though.  I still miss the fun and laughter and celebratory spirit nonetheless.

Holed up in our neck of the woods, I watched the snow from the comforts of a warm house and took pictures.   A couple of days later, wanting to shake off the beginnings of cabin fever, I braved the swirling cold and walked about with the camera.  I hoped to find some deer grazing in the woods or some other little animal cavorting about.  Alas! there was only me and the cold.   Taking photos with steamy glasses and shaking hands was a little challenging.   After 45 minutes or so outdoors, my toes were and fingers started to get stiff from the cold.  I rushed home.  My face, the only part of me that was exposed to the elements, took awhile to feel normal again.  I was reminded of those younger days when we girls, hoping to remove wrinkles and to have that coveted rosy blush, would slather ice cubes on our face.     Unfortunately, the effects of the ice did not last, but we did not have to suffer prolonged cold either.

Anyway, before I get lost in the chatter, here are some pictures from the indoor and outdoor photo forays.  🙂 Happy new year to you all.

15 comments

  1. Such pretty black and whites! I”ll have to remember to try more of those when I’m out in the snow, I love the one with the snow falling on the branches.

  2. I love that little cabin. And of course there were no animals out there cavorting about, it was too cold; they were probably all snug in their little hiding places wondering what you were doing out there 🙂

    • Thanks, Angeline. 🙂
      You are right. And my noise as I trudged through the snow was enough to drive even the friendliest of animals out there. I was thinking, the animals should be hungry and would dare to be out. 😉 Turns out, they were wiser than me. 😀

  3. I really love your collection of photos…it reminded me of Robert Frost’s poem
    Stopping by Woods on a snowy evening

    Whose woods these are I think I know.
    His house is in the village though;
    He will not see me stopping here
    To watch his woods fill up with snow.
    My little horse must think it queer
    To stop without a farmhouse near
    Between the woods and frozen lake
    The darkest evening of the year.
    He gives his harness bells a shake
    To ask if there is some mistake.
    The only other sound’s the sweep
    Of the easy wind and downy flake.
    The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.

  4. I love looking at the pictures of the snow, I must admit though…I’m very thankful that I no longer live where it snows! Very pretty to look at! Thank you for braving the cold weather, and for sharing these wonderful photos!

  5. Your photos are always so beautiful. I love the winter scenes because we don’t get that here. Once a year, we try to take the kids to see snow, but it’s not the same as seeing it outside your front door.

Leave a Reply

