WAITING

Leaves

My shriveled hand waves to the breeze –
“Come, kiss me good night
cradle me in your arms
lay me down gently
on my earthen bed
where Snow will tuck me in
under her white sheets.

Days have been long,
nights, even longer
with no company
but the chill creeping
in my bones.

My home is silent
if not for the whistling wind
lamenting the days
when its mere whisper
triggered the merry dancing
of the leaves.

O Sun and Moon
keep me under your watch
as I wait on Time.
Why does it take so long
for me to find rest
in Earth’s bosom?

___________

Linking with DVerse Poets’ Poetics-Change and Turns.

28 comments

  1. WoW…as I was painting at the library in Somesville, I saw the scattered withered leaves still on the branches and thought there must be a poem in those leaves still hanging on…
    And HERE IT IS ! Thank you…a wonderful write…and excellent metaphor.
    Peace and best wishes for a wonderful New Year.

    • Thanks, Siggi for the kind words. πŸ™‚ Those leaves helped me put my thoughts together about this theme which comes into my mind whenever I think of some beloved person.

  2. ..i don’t know if my assessment’s right but i have a feeling of waiting for death… such a delicate and smooth way of waiting for the final moment… i’m impressed..excellent! happy new year.. smiles..

Leave a Reply

