SUNDAY POST: CHRISTMAS

Christmas Tree
This is our family Christmas Tree. It is decorated the way my husband’s family decorates their tree – with Christmas balls, lights, tinsel, and a star. I love the simplicity of the tree and the way the lights reflect off the tinsel and glass ornaments.

So, Jakesprinter wants to see some Christmas from us.  And Christmas is what he will get. 😉

C is for children and cookies.  They go together.

Cookies
These cookies – cartalattes, amarettis, pizzells, peanut blossoms, tea cakes, sugar cookies, etc. – appear on the table only at Christmas time. The recipes for some of them are closely guarded secrets.

H is for Happiness that especially shows after receiving a nice gift. 🙂

Joy

R is for the rising sun that I chanced upon on Christmas morning, lending the snow a golden glow and making it seem warm when it wasn’t.

Christmas Day started with a golden sunrise.  I would have missed the moment but I was up early to prepare for Mass.  When we were almost ready, we learned about a winter storm warning and not wishing to go through a repeat of last year when our vehicle fishtailed on he slippery roads, we stayed at home.  What do you know?  The sun shone bright the entire day.  How disappointing!
Christmas Day started with a golden sunrise. I would have missed the moment but I was up early to prepare for Mass. When we were almost ready, we learned about a winter storm warning and not wishing to go through a repeat of last year when our vehicle fishtailed on he slippery roads, we stayed at home. What do you know? The sun shone bright the entire day. How disappointing!

I is for the Incarnation, God becoming man, the reason for Christmas.

Manger

S is for the Stockings that hang from the fireplace and stocked full of goodies by Santa’s elves. 😉

Stockings
As the family grew, new stockings were added to the original five that my husband’s family had. Christmas morning began with checking out the stockings’ content.

T is for Time with family and loved ones.

Family Time

M is for the Meals that we got to have together, for the Memories wrought by just being with each other.

It was a sourdough-pancake-and-scrapple kind of morning.
It was a sourdough-pancake-and-scrapple kind of morning.

A is for the Anticipation that makes children light up with excitement and check for the tags on the presents.

Anticipation

S are for the Snacks that sustained one throughout the day while he waited for  Christmas dinner.

Oranges

…and here’s a wish for wonderful surprises in the coming year.  Happy wonderful new year to you all. 🙂

Gift

Follow the dragon image for more Christmas photos. 🙂 water-dragon-poster

30 comments

  1. I love you photos and the virtual trip thru Christmas with a young family as mine is grown and live away now.
    Thank you for sharing…
    May your New Year be blessed with Peace and Joy each day of the year.

    Peace and love.
    Siggi..

    • I meant to tell you how lovely the tree is and some of the cookies you mentioned were the ones my family used to make…my mother would send a “care package” a couple of weeks before Christmas. My favorite cookie in the care package was a Russian tea cookie. Mmmm mmm good ☺
      Thank you again for sharing. Your adorable family looks like you have a very busy life.
      Peace and love,
      Siggi

      • Thank you Siggi for dropping by and for your lovely words. Russian tea cakes are a favorite here as well – my MIL has always made them (at least for all the years I’ve been with the family). Now, they are my kid’s favorite. I do not do much baking these days because everybody wants to ‘help’ and I do not have much patience nor time for that. 🙂

        I hope the storm will be mild in your area. Keep safe. We are expecting up to 12 inches of snow tomorrow.

        My best regards,
        Imelda

    • Thanks, Angeline. I hope you had a great Christmas celebration. Yeah, for our part, we had a great day, especially the children. 🙂 They loved their presents.

  2. Very nice and meaningful article and nice photo collections!

    Have a Very Merry and Holy Christmas, Imelda! 🙂
    May Christmas brings love, peace, joy, and happiness to the coming New Year of 2013!

    • Thanks, Adinparadise. 🙂 My son was so excited about Christmas that on Christmas Eve, he kept saying “I can’t wait for Christmas”, then on the morning after Christmas Day, he said “I can’t wait for the next Christmas.”

  3. Imelda, this was a beautiful post! I loved the pictures, and the spelling out of the word Christmas – reminds me of a song that I listened to as a little kid (a LONG time a go!) Hope your Christmas was as wonderful as the words that were written! I hope you have a great New Year too!

Leave a Reply

