CEE’S FUN PHOTO CHALLENGE: THINGS THAT MAKE ME HAPPY

Cee asked, “what are the things that make you happy?” Essentially, that is, for that is the theme of her fun photo challenge this week. For this theme, I will focus on the things that make life pleasant to live. Β I will avoid the givens – happy family life, people I love, faith, and similar stuff. Β So, here goes –

Books
Some of these books have served nothing but decorate the shelves or tables with their beautiful covers. Had I seen my stack of Agatha Christies when I took the photo, they should be here along with Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys. These days, I find myself avoiding the more angst-laden classics and novels. At the end of the day, when I want to relax, I just want to be entertained. I do not want to be crying when I go to bed at night.
pie
A couple of days ago, I managed to make a pie without throwing a big grump. The art of pie crust making that eluded me for the longest time just came to me. I was able to roll the dough and drape it on the pan without the crust crumbling. That was a major accomplishment for me. In game parlance, I leveled up in a cooking skill and suddenly, cooking possibilities opened to me.
Coffee
Coffee and cream, no sugar. It wakes me up. I grew up drinking coffee because I came from a coffee-growing place. I will be really glad if there is sweet bread or cookies to go along with it. That is snack bliss to me. πŸ™‚
Lemon Boy Tomatoes
Gardening is one of those activities that bring me joy (and grief). Anticipating the fruits from the garden is like waiting to open Christmas presents.
tamora1
Roses! Res ipsa loquitur.
Music
Music, good music. I have always been drawn to classical/baroque what have you music. I like listening to the orchestra. They make the spirit soar and explore possibilities.
Pond
A beautiful peaceful place. Solitude is good – it allows introspection. Silence lets me appreciate the beauty around.
Lollipop
I did not plan to include a picture of family. But I was practicing with my new camera and this photo came out. I am happy I am learning, happier still that there is this child – a happy child, all innocence and giggles and smiles. He would eat cookies and candies all day if only he is allowed to.

Please visit CEE and friends for more of the things that bring happiness.

24 comments

  1. I liked that you diverted from the norm, not that those things don’t make up happy but because it made you look past the obvious, to the little things, and it is those little things that round out the happiness that the big things bring. πŸ™‚

  2. Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys? That was my favourite book as well when I was a teen. πŸ˜€
    I love your decoration of your pie.

    Very nice photo collections and story behind, Imelda. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I loved them when I was a teenager and I still love them these days – but I only like the original stories, not the modern ones.
      The pie decoration was the leftover crust. I did not want to waste it so I cut it out.
      Inge, I appreciate your visit and comments all the time. Thank you for being such a great bloggy friend. πŸ™‚

  3. I loved reading Nancy Drew as well πŸ™‚

    So much happiness – these are wonderful pictures ..and so many reasons to smile πŸ™‚ the last photo is my favorite..

  4. Looks like we share similar reasons of our happiness. Coffee perks me up and smile like I just read a funny joke, desserts makes me say, “Yummy world!” and our kids, my reason for waking up each day. Beautiful. Wishing you and your family all the joys, love and peace of the holidays.

  5. What a glorious pie you made! Bravo on the pie crust, Imelda! I am so happy that you see possibilities in cooking because of it! I love all your items and photos. I agree with every single one of them. Is he your youngest boy? Those eyes–you’ve capture them so intricately. He is beautiful! Because I don’t have your address, I am going to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and happy holidays right here! I am so glad to have met you, friend!

    All the best,
    Sandra

    • Yay! Sandra. πŸ™‚ I can now think of making empanaditas or little meat pies, and those dessert-y pies. Yeah, the baby in the photo is my youngest. The capture is serendipitous. I am having a difficult time adjusting to my new camera. It has no live view finder so I have to rely on my faulty eyes to check for focus and clarity. I think I do need new glasses for that. It is one of my major issues.

      Thanks for being so thoughtful. I will try to drop by between now and Christmas. But let me now wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful new year. I am very happy to have met you. πŸ™‚ You are one great friend. πŸ™‚

  6. Great shots…love the music page. For some reason, even though I am unable to produce any kind of music, I love photos of sheet music. Go figure. Love the delicate rose too. Very nice.

    • Ha, Anita, your comment reminded me of a fellow violin leaner ages ago. She said that she could not read the music sheets without thinking of them as artworks/drawings. She said that she’s rather draw the notes than play the notes. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for visiting and the comment, Anita. πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas and a wonderful new year to you. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Janna. πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked them. I understand how you feel about your baby growing up so fast. Yay! Sometimes, I think of holding back the time so the children will remain children for a little while longer. πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas and a blessed new year to you and your family, Janna.

Leave a Reply

