WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: A SPLASH OF COLOR – RED

Red was the cry
“Have Him crucified!”
the smash of the sword
piercing His side
the blood that flowed
and hallowed the earth
turned darkness to snow
revealed Evil’s stealth.

Red is the hope
that inflames the soul
fruit of the Passion
that made Death fall,
laying open
Heaven’s door
there lies life
forevermore.

____________________

This week’s writing challenge is A Splash of Color.   I have wanted to write something that was inspired by this dewy red rose from the garden.

I got as far as “Red was the velvet caress of a rose in my hand” and got stumped after that.   My son, whose composition lessons this week focused on color inspired poetry, beat me into writing a poem about Red.  That was fine.  🙂  I am quite proud that he can  do his school work well.   But, then, tonight, while we were having dinner,  the first lines of the poem came to mind.   As soon as dinner was over, I wrote the words down and added more while I was doing the dishes.  The last line was added after a discussion with my husband about the meaning of ‘forevermore’ and ‘eternal’, and after  the children were put to bed.  I thought that the week would go by without me being able to join the prompt.   I am glad that it didn’t.

This flower might seem irrelevant now that the poem took on a different direction than I planned.  However, just because it started me seeing Red, I decided to honor it by keeping its picture here.

Thank you so much for coming over.  I appreciate your visit and comments, if any.  Have a great weekend. 🙂

P.S. Please head over to Weekly Writing Challenge for more takes on the Challenge.

10 comments

  1. A very touching, moving, passionate poetry. Red is love that endures and will to offer one’s life for the person we love. God taught us the priceless , selfless love of all…beautiful post. Have a great weekend.

  2. Really touched by the poem and can I borrow that one day? It was really beautiful that touched the very core of my heart.
    You know in my blog: willyouhearfromme.blogspot.com: I share my thoughts about God’s words and what I feel God imparts to me- Your poem can touch many hearts too. Of course I will write your name and blogsite as the source:)

    • Joy, thank you for your encouraging words naman. Sige, if you think that this little piece is usefu, sige use it in your blog. 🙂
      Galing mo – na-me-maintain mo ang mga blog mo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

