NIGHT FALLS

The last strains of sunlight lingered in the corners, grasping every available point of refraction.  She slid her fingertips along the glass wondering if this was all there ever was. Or could be.  She gazed at that beloved face, its eyes closed, a smile tugging at the lips. “Wake up!” Her mind screamed. The click of the lid pulled her back. And her tears fell.

________________

The challenge posed by Trifextra:Week 32 is to add  our own 33 words to the following:

“The last strains of sunlight lingered in the corners, grasping every available point of refraction.  She slid her fingertips along the glass wondering if this was all there ever was. Or could be.”

29 comments

  1. The lump in my throat makes me glad to be typing this response, rather than trying to verbalize it. What a beautiful, heartbreaking use of the prompt! With so few words you have captured the painful finality of the moment of a true last look. Thank you for that.
    Beautiful.

    • Thanks, BT. 🙂 Oh, how I wish that I am doing so. Sometimes, I get the prompt, most other times, I don’t. 🙂 I guess, that’s better than not at all. By the way, your banana bread recipe was good. I could not wait for the third banana (though the two I got was a cup). I think having less banana affected the moisture content of the bread, but even then, it was tasty. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

