A LOVE STORY

“You must be a writer,” said the email that Imee just received.  “Hmmm, did this, Jack or somebody,  even pay attention to what I wrote?  My  info was  lifted from the Bible.” She thought.   She was not very impressed, to say the least.  However, out of  charity, she typed in a polite response  to Jack.

“He is too young for me, 30 to my 33 and some.   And he is Traditional Catholic!  Oh Pharisee of Pharisees,” she told her friends.

Yet, somehow, the emails kept flying back and forth, back and forth.

One day, she asked “Can you send me a picture of yourself?”

When she checked her inbox, her eyes widened in disbelief.   “What the… ?”  Attached to the mail was   a grainy black and white image of a face with distorted features and tongue sticking out.

“I had no available photo so I scanned my face,”  he explained unconcerned about how he looked in the picture.

“How unpretentious!”  Imee concluded.

So, the emails turned to phone calls;   the phone calls into long conversations; the long conversations  into a romance.

“We should see each other,” they both agreed after some time.

“He may be a psycho.” Her friends  warned her.

“Well, there is really not much crime in Maine, so you should be safe.” Someone said to boost her morale.

“Are you desperate?” were the unspoken words of some.

She was scared but she had to find out.

One day, against some well-meaning advice, she packed her bags and took a 22-hour   flight to see Jack.

Their meeting changed the course of their lives.

More than a year later,   Imee’s  life was packed in three big suitcases.  They had all that she would need in her new life.    Leaving behind home and all the comforts that went with it, she boarded another long flight.   At the end of it waited her Jack,  frozen flowers in hand.  Together, they walked the aisle to  Happily-Ever-After Land.

************

The above post is my response to Trifecta:  Week Thirty Seven’s challenge, i.e., to write a response  in 33-333 words using the third definition of the word “FLIGHT” – 3a : a trip made by or in an airplane or spacecraft   b : a scheduled airplane trip.

Thank you fro dropping by.  Do visit Trifecta for wonderful responses. 🙂

25 comments

  1. I read stories like this with an optimist’s point of view, but I’m left with a lot of questions. I think that I’m worried about Imee and this is a very good story.

    • Oh, don’t worry about Imee. She is having the time of her life. Worry more about Jack. I think between him and Imee, he got the raw end of the deal. :-)) They now have a posy of kids and several years of marriage behind them.

      Thank you for dropping by, Lumdog. 🙂

  2. I like the idea of happily-ever-after and Imee proving her friends wrong. Too bad many times, it ends up that the friends were right. (I got a chuckle out of the scanned face as a photo :))

    One minor thing – I think you might be missing a “the” or “a” before the 22-hour flight.

    • First, thanks for the bit of correction. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Yeah, you are so right about friends being correct often. I am one of those friends who make no bones about my disapproval of a friend’s suitor. Happily, in Imee’s case, (Imee is my nickname), things turned out well. Jack has more trouble with her. And yeah, most of my friends laughed at that scanned photo and counted that in Jack’s favor.

  3. love this love story!!! My daughter met her husband on line…..and she heard the same comments and warnings from us….they too are living happily ever after!

  4. I spotted this as autobiographical as soon as about half-way through. What a lovely, sweet, and darling thing to write. Great memories it must have brought back to you. That flight did change your life! I loved this!

Leave a Reply

