DH

Need made her fly

to a foreign land

where like a slave

she minded

her masters’ home and child

that she can feed

her own little ones

now hungering

for their mother’s love.

“DH”, short for Domestic Helper, was a piece inspired by the countless women who, in order to support their own families, leave their homes to work in local or foreign households. This is my response to the challenge – “Forty-three years ago today, Neil Armstrong became the first person to ever walk on the moon. In celebration of Moon Day we want you to write 33 words about someone who took a giant leap. It can mean whatever you’d like, just make sure you write exactly 33 words” – by

Trifextra: Week Twenty-Five.

Please visit Trifecta’s page for more entries. ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. ย  After I hit ‘publish’, I learned that this is my 100th post too! ย Yey! ๐Ÿ™‚

23 comments

  1. I liked the piece by itself, reading it on the tag surfer, but, upon clicking and finding out it was a response to a challenge, then it showed me insight into your character and what you consider to be a leap, and my admiration grew even more. Have a great day!

    • Thank you fro dropping by Janna.
      Like you, I am quite thankful that I am able to stay at home and be with my family at all times. What a gift that is.

  2. Happy 100th! This is something I have thought about often, paying someone to raise my kid during the day while I work with other children and families. Crazy world. Thanks for linking up. Be sure to come back this week for the longer challenge.

    • True. ๐Ÿ™‚ In my case, I feel particularly rich that I can stay at home to watch the children (and be driven nuts most times). ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you, Madhu. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Brilliant! I see women in the park sometimes, and it is obvious that they are caring for another’s child(ren). To wonder if, as they push that child on the swing, they have or are able to do the same for their own – you brought that idea perfectly in this post. Thank you for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

