THE VELVETEEN RABBIT – in 33 words

Rabbit wanted to be real.

“You’ve to be really loved. It can hurt.” Horse advised.

The little boy played with Rabbit until Rabbit’s threads frayed. But Rabbit was happy. He became real.

~The End~

_______________________

Trifextra: Week Twenty-Two 

has a rather difficult challenge – retell a favorite book in 33 words. The challenge is difficult on several levels primarily because:  (1) It has been a long time since I read any significant book.  I have forgotten most of the plot details that will help me retell the story; (2) How does one reduce those beautiful stories in 33 words, anyway?  🙂 Well, I guess that is why it is called a challenge.

Then I remembered that  I have been reading to my children for sometime and came across a lot of good children’s books.  I wanted to re-tell Go, Dog! Go!  I thought that the love story there was neat to tell.  Then I remembered Velveteen Rabbit.  I liked it.  I understood it.  What a way to teach children about love  and finding meaning in life.

Thank you for dropping by and have a blessed day.

~Imelda

6 comments

  1. Thanks so much for linking up with Trifecta this weekend. I really liked Velveteen Rabbit and appreciate your retelling of it here. It gets a lot of play around our house, given that my son has had scarlet fever three times in 2 years. (Unlucky??) Hope to see you back on Monday for the 33rd challenge celebration.

Leave a Reply

