OF LILIES AND SPARROWS

Look at the flowers in the fields how they grow.
They do not toil or spin. 

But I tell you that not even Solomon in all his wealth was clothe like one of these. 

If God so clothes the grass in the field which blooms today and is to be burned tomorrow in an oven, 

how much more will He clothe you?

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow, they do not harvest and do not store food in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not worth much more than birds? 

This is why I tell you not to be worried about food and drink for yourself, or about clothes for your body.  Is not life more important than food and is not the body more important than clothes? Can any of you add a day to your life by worrying about it?  The Heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  Set your heart first on the Kingdom and justice of God and all these things will be given to you.”

The above quotations have been taken  from Matthew 6:24-31,  (my jumbled version).  I just thought of posting that which was directly about the lilies and sparrows, but the  entire passage is too pretty to be missed.  Besides, looking back now, I think it is so apropos for Father’s Day.   The Father in heaven is the father’s Father.

To my fathers, my Tatay and my in-law – who in their own ways mirror the Father to me, to my husband (a most wonderful father) and to all of you fathers by nature or by heart, a blessed and Happy Father’s Day.  God bless and help you in your difficult task. 🙂

A blessed Sunday to all.

~Imelda

    Floral Friday Fotos

19 comments

  1. Pretty, pretty lilies. Ours have not bloomed yet, and probably won’t for another 2-3 weeks… so thank you for letting me enjoy them now 🙂

    • Hello, K. You must be taking a break from your 1700 word date. 🙂 I am glad to hear from you. 🙂
      These lilies are early bloomers. Are they Asiatic lilies or stargazers? There’s a variety in here that will bloom in about the same time as yours will. And that batch is more fragrant too. 🙂

      • They look like Asiatic to me. The stargazers usually have larger blooms and are punctuated by more dramatic colour combos in the shape of a star.

        I gave up on the novel this month Imelda. I didn’t like the story I was writing, and just flat didn’t want to finish it. So, I am peeking around a little bit more (still writing on a couple others though). Thanks for noticing. I should post a recant on my blog, perhaps tomorrow 🙂

      • Oh, so that is the difference between the 2 lilies. I think my late bloomers will be the stargazers then.

        There is still the November NaNoWriMo for you, right? Good luck on all your writing, I will read your post when you put that up. 🙂

  2. These are all wonderful shots, from the angles, closeups and colors, each has something to offer! Thank you for sharing them.

    Do you enlarge/print these for framing? Make your home the gallery for this artwork 🙂

    • Thank you and welcome. 🙂
      No, I have not printed any of the pictures I have taken. I’ve been thinking about having one printed just to see how it would look like. Other than that, I do not know what to do with all the pictures. And there are tons of them, with a handful of nice ones. 🙂

    • Hi Inge. Thanks for the visit and the nice words.
      When they bloom, your garden will be full of flowers. I have some of those – stargazer lilies and gladioli in the garden. I will see orchids when I visit the Philippines in a few days. Yey!

Leave a Reply

