A RED, RED ROSE – VELVET FRAGRANCE


A RED, RED ROSE
Robert Burns

O MY Luve ‘s like a red, red rose
That ‘s newly sprung in June:
O my Luve ‘s like the melodie
That’s sweetly play’d in tune!

 

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in luve am I:
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry:

 

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.


And fare thee weel, my only Luve,
And fare thee weel a while!
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho’ it were ten thousand mile.

The rose featured in this post is Velvet Fragrance.  It got its name from the strong sweet smell that this rose has.    The picture does not show it well, but this is a bright red rose.  This plant was not my choice, but my son’s.  He kept on choosing the red ones from the catalogue.   I prefer the sunset and yellow varieties.

This is its second year in the garden and this is the first time that I saw a proper bloom.  No, there is no such thing as an ‘improper’ bloom 😉 but last year’s flowers did not look anything like this bloom  does.  So far, it has resisted black spots and other rose menace.  I wonder how this will do for the rest of the season.   We are in Zone 6.  So if you are in the same zone or even warmer, you can have this in your garden.  Oh, this was an own-root plant, i.e., it was not grafted into another root stock.  That means that you do not have to worry about your rose turning into something else in the course of its life, which may happen with bare-root plants.   Own-root plant  is also said to be sturdier than its bare-root counterparts.

There is a belief that roses really take off in their third year.  I look forward to what this rose will do next season.

   Copy this image and its link to place on your blog

14 comments

  1. I garden in Zone 2 – blech! – but we can still have lovely roses here. Two years ago I lost 12 in one winter and still haven’t replaced them all. Many had been gifts and some were heirloom and hard to replace properly. Gardening here teaches lessons in how to deal with disappointment almost daily! (Imagine all the character I am building… ) 🙂

    • Wow. There are hardly any Zone 2 Roses – at least as far as the catalogue I look at is concerned. I would love to see some hardy varieties so I can recommend them to my in-laws. And speaking of building character and priorities, one time, either my children or husband broke a cane of a rose that I have been trying to revive. I was so mad – it was only the thought that my loved ones are more important than my flowers that kept me from being very very angry.

      • Our local university horticulture program has been breeding some prairie hardy roses on our behalf – and we still have to add god winter protection so they don’t winter-kill. When they don’t survive, they are very expensive ‘annuals’…sigh. There are ‘Morden’ varieties of roses which are quite hardy, if you can find them. And been there, done that with family (or pets!) which are hard on my garden investments! Sometimes biting your tongue – HARD – is a good policy! 🙂

  2. I can attest to rose bushes growing well after a few seasons! I have 6 that came with the house landscaping. With annual pruning and deadheading, they are doing beautifully. I’ve been too busy to link up my roses pictures, but I think your post just inspired me. I’ll have to gather up my rose pictures and post them! Your blooms are so full, as it’s probably a nice variety!

    • Please do link up your photo. I found a blog dedicated to roses. I can send you the link if you are interested.
      Many of my roses are not in great condition. One of my favorites is too leggy, the others have lost their leaves to blackspot. Sigh.. I need to do something. And I should learn to be brave about pruning. 🙂

      • I used to be afraid to prune, too, but eventually I realized that no matter how you prune, any node left will come back with flower buds. Pruning also helps shape the bush so you have evenness. My first blooms are wilting, so I’ll be pruning/deadheading soon. The growths have been so uneven that they need it! Cut away and you’ll get braver each time.

      • I will have to do this, for the sake of my leggy roses. Now, if only I have some of those legs…;-)
        Thanks for the tip, Sandra.

Leave a Reply

