PEONY BLUSH

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please pardon me if I go overboard with the peony pictures.   Peonies are just plain lovely and I like them a lot.  All flowers are beautiful but peonies are special because they are big yet  delicate;  they are showy; and they are fragrant.  Their only downside is that they bloom only once.

As soon as I had a place to plant, I planted peonies.  I remember being quite scared about planting my first bareroot plants.  I watched videos.  I looked for online instructions.   I was glad when the fist sprouts came out.  And I was more than glad to know that these plants are so low maintenance.  Once they get established, they get going.   They did not even mind that I planted them in full sun, not in partial sun as recommended.

Now I have 5 bushes in the garden.  Four of them are flowering (though I might not see the other blooms because  I will be on a little holiday).  I recently bought another bareroot plant.  Silly me.  I have forgotten to  plant it.   Maybe because, I do not know where to stick it anymore.  I suppose I can strip more lawn to make more garden.  I don’t think my Betterhalf will be thrilled about that though. 🙂

The flowers shown here are from one of the bushes.  The plant was supposed to be White Peony.  However, as you can see, these flowers are pale pink.  They do, however, turn white as they soak up the sun and  go further along.  Some inner petals will also show a red stripe.

The pictures were taken over several days.  I had a field day today after the rain.  Peonies and raindrops are just pretty, I think.

Thank you for visiting and viewing the pictures.   I hope you enjoyed looking at them as I enjoyed taking the pictures. 🙂

I am linking this post to52 Photos Project with the theme –PINK; PROJECT ALICIA’ s Not So Wordless Wednesday;  

and  then, she {snapped}

Do head over to those wonderful sites for great photos and people.

Have a beautiful blessed day.

~Imelda

24 comments

  1. Absolutely breathtaking. You cannot EVER have too many pictures of peonies. Beautiful post. Thank you for the “like” on mine.
    Peace,
    Alexandria Sage

    • Thank you for dropping by Pieces of Sunshine and for the lovely comment. Peonies make up for the tropical flowers that I sometimes sorely miss. 🙂

  2. I don’t think you can have too many pictures of any kind of flower, so I think you’re safe! I especially like the ones that show the water droplets on the petals. So pretty 🙂

  3. I agree with Janna. Too many pictures of peonies? Oxymoron. They’re stunning, delicate, and your photos do them justice. Thanks for sharing them.

      • My Oriental Poppy has huge buds on it right now. It had over 60 blooms last year, and they were all the size of a dinner plate. I love my flower gardens (with camera in hand of course!)

  4. So pretty! Mine bloomed while we were gone this weekend and then got knocked down in a thunderstorm before we got back. The girls and I picked a bunch to enjoy them inside which has been a nice silver lining but I’m still sad I missed them outside in all their glory!

Leave a Reply

