BEING HUSBAND AND WIFE

He shook his head at his wife. She was into her third cup of coffee in an hour. “If you are that sleepy, why don’t you just sleep early at night?” he wanted to ask her as she swallowed the last drop from her cup. He opted to bite his tongue lest he started a torrent of words beginning with “You don’t understand…”

“You should take a nap, Dear,” he said instead.

“Ah! Just because you don’t drink coffee, you think I am sleepy. I’m NOT sleepy!” She said emphatically.

His eyes wandered off to the ceiling, then on the wall beside him, then on the floor. “A fly went by,” he gave a cheeky grin when he saw the look she gave him.

Later that day, his cell phone rang. “Home” the caller ID said. He shuddered as he picked it up. A barrage of sobbing and wailing and words that sounded like “I am tired. I need a break” slammed into his ears. Just as he expected would happen. He closed his eyes and counted.

“Why aren’t you talking to me?”

“Darling, put everyone to bed. Go to sleep.”

“No. I did not ask you to tell me anything.”

“But…”

“No! You just don’t understand!”

“…you asked me to..”

“Why don’t you ever listen to me. I just want a sympathetic ear.”

“Ok, what do you want to do?”

“You should know that by now.”

“Oh Darling…you are an exasp…” He palmed his forehead before he could say the rest of the word.

“…..an enigma, I mean.”

_______________________________

This piece was written for

Trifecta: Week Twenty-six.

This week, the challenge is to write a response, in 33-333 words, to the word ENIGMA which for this prompt means an inscrutable or mysterious person.

Thank you for dropping by.

Best regards,

Imelda

23 comments

    • Thank you for dropping by and the comment, Jesterqueen.
      With a wife like that, he will be spending his life working on that balance and self possession. 😉

  1. Ha! I like how he substituted enigma at the end. Sounds much nicer, though it could prompt further discussion 🙂 The wife reminded me of my son when he’s missed a nap.

    • Thank you for visiting and the comment, Janna.
      That wife will not take that word calmly especially in the mood she’s in. She can out-whine even the whiniest child. 😉

    • You will like the guy -half. He’s quite even tempered.
      But both realize that even in relatively healthy marriages, there is a breakdown in communication and expectations due essentially to their genders and their being wired differently.

  2. Imelda. Love the way you gave this to us from the husband’s point of view. His walking on eggs seems to be making things worse! I don’t blame him for palming his forehead! HA!

    • Thank you for dropping by and commenting, Linda. 🙂
      Better his forehead than her bottom. 🙂 😀 When the wife is in a mood, she can just go on and on. She can make an issue out of anything that her husband says.

  3. Good save, husband! I was really drawn into this ongoing marital ‘discussion’! Nice response to the prompt (one that was too much an enigma for me to tackle…)!

    • Being not a native speaker, I had to ask my husband to explain to me the nuance of the word. My initial ideas did not work well with the word and simply did not work well. It was when I was drinking my third cup that this occurred to me and decided to make fun of ourselves.

Leave a Reply

