FIRST AND LAST

It’s been raining for almost a week now.  Everything is grey and there is not much to do.  I am raring to do some gardening – the weeds are overcoming us already – but it’s just so wet for that.

My spirits lifted when I found a surprise in  my garden yesterday.  Nelly Moser opened its first blooms, her first two blooms.   That was a little early.  She usually blooms around the second or third week of May.  I guess the warm winter and ‘early’ spring woke her up rather early.  But I do not mind.  Her flowers are truly pretty, and when all of them are in bloom, as I expect them to be in a week or two, they  put up a road-stopping show.   My front garden will explode in striped pink from the hundreds of buds biding their time.  Their photos will be up in this blog for sure.

On the other hand, the tulips are saying goodbye.  They had a good run.  I thank them for coloring our drab weedy front yard and for the joy that they gave to those who beheld them.   Even in its last stages, this tulip fascinated me – somehow,  a secondary bud grew out of its center and bloomed as well.    I have posted pictures of this tulip, in its full glory here and here.  There is always something to discover, I see. 🙂

Yet, I do not want to end this post with a wilting tulip.  Somehow, a plant has reserved its gift for a later time and she is just starting to bloom.    On her delicate petals rest the burden of brightening her little corner of the garden until the flowering baton is passed on to the later bloomers.

May pleasant surprises await you today.

Thank you for dropping by and for your comments. 🙂

~Imelda

P.S.

For gorgeous flower photos, please head on over to these wonderful places –

    Copy this image and its link to place on your blog.

19 comments

  1. Lovely flower shots … I so love flowers with water drops on them! It so nice seeing colours again! We’ve had sort of a non-winter …i.e. No Snow, so everything has been brownish-gray for many months. It’s like both my eyes and the camera is just longing for some colour! It’s a rainy day today, but we can just begin to see the very first, sheer green on the trees, and the lawns are green. It’s a nice time now, before the real Summer heat arrives.

    • Thank you Reb for dropping by. I always look forward to spring and for the grass and everything to sprout. Even though we did not have much snow this year, the ground was still bare and not so nice to look at. 🙂 I wish you beautiful spring and summer flowers around you. 🙂

    • Thank you for dropping by, Anne. And for the nice words too. I like spring too, especially mid-spring when flowers are in bloom. 🙂

  2. This is a clematis? … Love the range of lilac, lavender and light plum in the flower. How wonderful you show a shot before the flower opens, then opened. Very pretty.

    Robin
    happilyhomeafter.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for dropping by and the comment.
      Yes, this is a clematis, a variety of it. This is called Nellie Moser. This plant is so easy going and so easy to maintain.

  3. Especially like the second photo, with its asymmetrical shape. It’s almost more beautiful than the fully open one. Thanks for sharing your garden.

    • Welcome Diane. Thank you as well for dropping by and leaving a comment. I tried taking more photos of the half-opened flower but I was just having a lot of difficulty with the more irregular shape. 🙂

  4. the photos are pretty in themselves, but they come to life with your words! I don’t know which is better, the pics or the texts 🙂 Thanks for sharing Imelda!

Leave a Reply

