(An Ode to) THAT DANDELION!

Much has been said

of the dandelion

too lowly, so pretty

too weedy, so tasty.

Such a nuisance

on smooth grass

Goes so well

with the lettuce.

Whichever side of the fence you’re on

regarding these dandelions –

they brighten up

the naked earth

they serve up a feast

while other flowers still sleep.

And so, accept this fact –

nature itself

rewards this flower

by scattering its seeds

when its time’s o’er

that more of its kind

will greet spring

as heralds go

before their king.

_________________

I guess I have too much time to take all of these pictures – just of the dandelion, and to make a silly poem.  I just hope that the dandelion will be honored by my humble little homage, honored enough that it can forgive me for wanting it to be mowed out of our backyard. 🙂

I hope you enjoy this little silliness and the pictures as I enjoyed writing the words and taking the photographs. 🙂  You can mouse over the photos and click for bigger pictures.

May you find your inspiration to be fun-silly today.  Have a great day.

~Imelda

.

12 comments

  1. I really like that life cycle picture of the dandelion’s stages in its flowering life! Very well done! If it weren’t such a ferocious grower, it actually is kind of pretty! Thanks for sharing!

    • Sandra, thanks a lot for dropping by and for the comment. Yeah, that’s my complain about the dandelion – they will takeover everything if you let them. HAve you tried them as food?

      • I’m pretty sure I have eaten them before, although not in foods that I have prepared. I don’t think I know how to use them. Do you?

Leave a Reply

