BEAUTY IN UNEXPECTED PLACES

First things first, thank you to the folks in Tina’s Picstory for the nice words they have for my flower entries last week.  I got so busy with things at home that I did not even know about the vote results until Sandra of Letters of Muse gave me notice.  

_________________________________

I do not like Barberry bushes.  They are thorny.  I have been poked by their sharp thorns too many times that I am wary of them.  

One day, while I was out in the yard, I noticed their  overgrown branches extending to our little path and, excuse me, making a nuisance of themselves again.  I made a mental note to have them trimmed as soon as I had the time.  Then I noticed how the sun shone on their leaves and made the latter glow.  And then I noticed the little yellow things arranged neatly in a row on the branches.  How pretty those little golden nuggets were as they caught the sunshine.  For the moment, I forgot about the thorns, drew closer to the bush, and admired the yellow delights. 

More than the flower, I suppose it was the joy of unexpectedly finding something beautiful  in something I always thought of as a nuisance that made the difference.  It brought to mind that time from long ago when I was a young and harassed lawyer.

One morning, as I was walking to the bus stop to catch a ride to work, my head clouded with all things that needed to be done and with the tedium of the day,  I saw a young mother with  a little girl in her arms.  Somehow, I looked at them and caught the girl’s eye.  I was about to look away when she gave me a bright bright smile.  I did not know what that smile had, but it brought sunshine into my very soul and lifted the gloom shrouding me.  I walked with a little more spring on my steps.  My mind opened in prayer of thanks and joy.  

I suppose that is where the magic of an unexpected beauty lies:  it is a gift from God, an assurance of His love all around.

So today, I pray that you be blessed with beauty from unexpected places and delight in it.  

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Imelda 

P.S.  The overgrown Barberry  branches still need to go though. :-) I am linking again with my favorite Friday place  And I hope that I post the trackback properly this time. :-)  I am also linking with Copy this image and its link to place on your blog.  Please head over to these lovely places for beautiful flower photos. 

12 comments

  1. Presence and mindfulness come to mind. This piece reminds me of Thich Nhat Hanh’s poetry on coming back to capture the fullness and richness of the present moment.

Leave a Reply

