WPC: THRESHOLD

This spider-web-inspired gate is a very famous one  in Bangor, ME.  Behind this  lives a very famous author and his family. He is quite famous that his house has become a sort of a tourist attraction. On a rainy day in June of last year, I was finally able to visit this place. While I was busy taking pictures, a hotel shuttle passed by to let a departing client check the house before he was brought to the airport.

GAte

If you still have not guessed the man, perhaps, it will help you if I say that on some days, a lucky visitor could get a glimpse of a little dog named CUJO playing in the yard.   If you still need more clue, the author of this house wrote Carrie  and The Shining, among others.   However, I confess that I have not read the books.  I only watched Carrie in DVD and with my eyes closed half of the time.  Also, I only watched the first five minutes of  The Shining because it scared me so.   Because I am of the faint-hearted variety, I have not read a lot of his books.

King House

I guess, by now, you have already guessed the name of the author:  STEPHEN KING.

So, if by chance you are in Bangor, ME, ask anyone and chances are, he or she can direct you to the Spider Web Gate (or just ask your good old mobile phone for the address). :-)

Thank you for coming by.  :-) For more THRESHOLD, please click the link. :-)

31 thoughts on “WPC: THRESHOLD

  1. Oh isn’t that gorgeous!! I’m not a big King fan–though my fave movie of his is “Dolores Claiborne” (his books are too full of gratuitous foul language for me).

    • IS it that movie about a middle – aged lady. Now, I remember, was Katy Bates the lead? If so, I must have seen bits and pieces of it on TV. I remember black birds swirling around a New England style house.

      • It’s with Kathy Bates–the setting is a rare eclipse in the harbor town (with flashbacks to the past). “Dolores” works for a rich woman–housekeeping and personal care–and her husband, who was an abusive alcoholic and stole her bank savings (for the daughter’s education) meets with an accident, falling down a well, the night of the eclipse. Though there were suspicions that Dolores had a hand in it, there was insufficient evidence to prosecute at the time–Now many years later, the rich woman falls down the stairs and dies, and the constable is bent on making Dolores pay this time. Sound familiar to you yet?

      • No, I’m sorry for my poor recollection, Starralee. That’s what I get for not paying too much attention while watching a movie. I am the kind to let a movie run in the background while I am doing something else. Then I will take a peek when something interesting is happening. :-)

      • Well, this one you have to pay attention to :-) But I’m not sure you’d like it–the subject matter is rather dark; it’s very well done though, so I find it compelling. So nice to hear from you–hope you’re having a good week!

  2. Very cool. Reminds me of Charles Addams cartoons. Those books and movie stay with you. I never can look at a St. Bernard the same way. Doubt I’m getting to Bangor anytime soon so thanks for sharing your photos.

  3. OMG! Stephen King? I am a fan of his work although most in DVD’s/movies since I’m not really into reading huge books. He brings horror and suspense like no other. I’ve seen both movies you shared here and their timeless! Thanks for a fun adventure!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Threshold (Dormitory) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: photo-challenge-threshold #photography #dpchallenge #haiku | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: Hurry up, dude! | Words 'n Pics

  7. Pingback: My Little Cuddle Buddy. | B.Kaotic

  8. That’s a gorgeous house – and gate. I haven’t read Stephen King either (or seen the movies.) You see, I’m paranoid enough- I don’t need to scare the wits out of myself and end up with nightmares!

  9. Pingback: WordPress challenge: Threshold | The Wandering Poet

  10. So interesting, the gate, the house, that you visited! If you ever want to give SK a try, read his 11/22/63. It’s not scary, and is really a love story in a time-travel piece. I loved it. I’ve only read 2 of his books, but I do want to give his older, famous horror ones a try. Maybe this summer. :)

Leave a Reply

