WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Create – Rosettes

For this week’s challenge – CREATE – I am posting two of the projects I did  a year and three years ago, respectively.

The first one is a crown of rosettes that I made for the traditional May Crowning of the Blessed Virgin Mary last year. This was fashioned from twisties that were, well, twisted together to make the round frame; white and pink ribbons to make the rosettes, and beads, and an assortment of bows.

The second photo is of the flower girl basket that I made for a family member’s wedding 3 years ago.  We got the basket from Michael’s and spruced it up with nylon, lace, ribbons, and beads.  I fashioned some of the  ribbons into little rosettes which accented the orange and gold bows that I made.

My mother is pretty good with fabrics – she being a seasoned seamstress.  It is from her that I got the interest to tinker with cloths although I never learned to sew.  When I was a child, I helped her put beads on the dresses she was making.  I also saw her make cabbage roses at one time or another.  When I was in grade school, we were taught how to make flowers out of  crepe paper.   I enjoyed doing it.  Since then, I would sometimes fiddle with tissue paper or any longish and soft paper to make flowers when my hands get twitchy.  That helped me fashion rosettes from cloth when I needed to.  To hold the form,  I stitched the folds in places.

Thank you for dropping by.  For more responses to the challenge, please visit Weekly Photo Challenge: Create.

Happy crafting. :-)

~Imelda

36 thoughts on “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Create – Rosettes

    • Thank you, Chelle, for the visit and the kind words. :-) Now you do craft of a different kind – your writing. :-) I only do these stuff when I am asked to though. It is not something I do regularly. Otherwise, our house will be full of stuff I do not need. :-P

      • Lol. I remember when my house was overflowing with crafts. I’d like what I made so much I hated to part with it.
        Thank you for reminding me I have turned towards a different type of craft. :)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  2. My friend, you have a gift and a talent to create something beautiful. Looks like your mom passed on her artistic genes to you. Love both work. Things that are made by hands, I always admire and appreciate. It shows passion and love for the craft. Have a blessed …best wishes to your family.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: CREATE… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

